Grocery Shopping at Earth Fare

This morning some doula clients of mine gave me a $40 gift card to Earth Fare, which is just about the perfect gift anyone could give me. (Thanks B and H!) I had already planned to go grocery shopping today, so I headed to the Turkey Creek location of Earth Fare with plans to try to stay close to the amount of the gift card for my total expenditure.

Nope. I went over by more than double.

It’s ok, though. I came home with 3 lbs of natural, free-range, antibiotic/hormone free chicken thighs and legs for less than $5. I got 2 lbs of natural ground beef, which will be made into meatloaf tonight, along with the organic asparagus.

Other items I purchased:

Organic eggplant
Organic bananas
Organic green onions
Capers
Feta cheese
2 things of Tofu
2 Cartons of Almond Milk
2 Cartons of Kefir (oh, I love Kefir!)
2 boxes of Earth Fare’s brand of shells and cheese
2 cans of tahini (hummus, anyone?)
3 types of vitamins/supplements (one is a liquid calcium/magnesium/zinc/vit D/potassium blend in liquid form)

So while the total bill was $92.00, I really feel I got my money’s worth to get healthy food plus some supplements we needed. I’ll just try to go easier on the rest of the food budget for the month. I can’t wait to make something eggplanty and delicious.

Leave a Reply

