Whole Wheat Pasta Casserole

Yesterday I made my “famous” chicken and dumplings for dinner (I’ll share the recipe at a later time). In order to make this, I get a small whole chicken and boil it in a large stockpot as the base for the chicken and dumplings. Then I take the carcass and immediately put it in the slow cooker (couldn’t imagine life without my slow cooker) and fill it with water. 24 hours later, I have this:

 

Gorgeous, beautiful, homemade chicken broth. Imagine how much use you can get from one small chicken!  Part of it was used in tonight’s dinner. I had bought a box of whole wheat rotini pasta from Big Lots ( a good place to score random gourmet food items) for $1. I began boiling the pasta and sauteed some onions and chicken sausage together. When the pasta was finished, I put it in my favorite casserole dish, spread the onions and sausage in, then added fresh kale, frozen corn, and olive oil, garlic, and a spice for use on grilled chicken. I grated some Sharp Cheddar cheese on top — and then ladled a few ladles of my fresh chicken broth into the dish. This is how it looked before it went into the oven.

I baked it on 350* for about 30-40 minutes. It was delicious. The chicken sausage could have been a little spicier, in my opinion, but it’s what I had in the freezer from a previous purchase from Angel Food Ministries.

Leave a Reply

